The 50% Rule, Dealing With Stress, Pressing Pause

FTF #104

Hey there - it’s Don.

Happy Friday to you!

This week I announced that I added 5 slots to the Kettlebell Strength System.

If you’re a Christian guy who is:

  • Busy and needs an exercise routine that’s efficient with your time

  • Wants structure and a process to follow to lose weight and build strength

  • Tired of making excuses without making progress and is ready for some accountability

Just click below to schedule a free call to see if this program can help.

Let’s jump into this week’s Fit Tip Friday!

🔎 In This Fit Tip Friday

Inside you’ll find:

  • The 50% rule

  • Dealing with stress

  • Pressing pause

  • This tasty cereal you can find at Costco …. (and more finds)

  • The catalyst of accountability

First time reading? Sign-up here.

Tip #1: The 50% Rule

Most guys don’t eat enough protein and they eat way too many grainy carbs.

So here here’s one simple strategy that you can follow for your meals.

For your typical plate:

  1. Replace 50% of pasta/rice/bread portions with vegetables or fruit.

  2. Add 50% more animal protein to your plate

That will decrease the calories per plate, increase your protein intake, and give you all delicious nutrient density of fruits/vegetables.

Tip #2: Dealing With Stress

This analysis of meta-studies found that “exercise is more beneficial for conditions such as anxiety and depression than standard psychotherapy or medications”.

To quote the summary of the study:

“Physical activity is 1.5 times more effective at reducing mild-to-moderate symptoms of depression, psychological stress, and anxiety than medication or cognitive behavior therapy”

Dr. Ben Singh (study’s lead author)

For me, exercise has been a regular way that I deal with my own stress. It’s one of the best benefits of the habit.

Tip #3: Pressing Pause

Getting sick, busy work schedules, sick kids, or lots of travel can throw wrenches into trying to be consistent with exercise.

But I’ve learned the only thing really ever blocking my path to consistency is my choice to decide to do it or not, regardless of what else is happening.

Sure there are actual reasons to press pause on exercise for a time.

But my finger is the only one on top of that button.

🔎 Finds/Resources This Week

Here are some of my favorite finds/resources this week.

Nutrition

  • This cereal you can find at Costco has a high protein/calorie ratio (more)

  • 21 healthier alternatives to your favorite classic junk foods (more)

  • 7 ways to add protein to your oatmeal (more)

  • Precision Nutrition’s hand-portion guide (more)

Training

  • This is one of my favorite stretches for my hips & lower back (more)

  • Based on the research, 2p - 6p is when your body is in optimum condition for best physical performance (more)

  • 100 ways to add 2,000 steps to your day (more)

  • The history of the kettlebell (more)

What’s New from Layman’s Fitness

  • The real benefits of a home gym (more)

💭 The Catalyst of Accountability

I’m a very stubborn person.

This is true for me in business, my personal life, family life, fitness and relationships.

So naturally, I resist accountability like a mall shopper trying to avoid eye contact with the eager mall kiosk worker.

9.99 times out of 10, this resistance to accountability has cost me something.

  • If I had welcomed accountability with my business 3-years ago, I have no doubt in my mind I could have gone full-time with it much sooner.

  • If I had welcomed accountability as a younger man in my personal life, I have no doubt in my mind I could have wasted less time and got to work much sooner.

  • If I had welcomed accountability earlier on in my marriage, I have no doubt in my mind that would have served me and my wife in our first few years.

Fundamentally, accountability requires humility. And this is a hard pill to swallow for my stubborn pride.

This process requires some kind of admission that I can’t do it myself. And that I need help.

There’s no shame in this. In fact, humility always comes before honor (Proverbs 18:12).

And, 9.99 times out of 10, when I have welcomed accountability, something happens.

Change.

And it’s not always fast change. But accountability has always catalyzed the process over time.

👍 Thanks for reading!

I’ll see you next week.

Be strong,

Don

P.S… Check out this 92kg kettlebell 🤯🤯🤯 (that’s 203 lbs for everyone who doesn’t speak kilograms)