Fit Tip Friday: #28

Fit Tip Friday - The Six-Pack and the Christian

The Six-Pack Craze

The six-pack is one of the "gold standards" of physical fitness. Six-packs are used as marketing tools all the time. They cover fitness websites, Instagram pictures, YouTube videos, movie screens, and Facebook posts. Having a six-pack was one of my very first goals when I started exercising at the beginning of high school. I tried all kinds of core programs, eating routines, and read anything I could on building the six-pack.  In a word, I was obsessed with the pursuit. I joined in on the craze. When I became a Christian, the six-pack craze turned into a six-pack haze. I spotted the idolatry and had to learn to turn from it, but my obsession had caused some confusion. As a Christian, could I still pursue a six-pack? And more importantly, why would I do it as a Christian? These are tricky questions, and I piece together a few thoughts in my new article, which is accompanied by a free 8-week core strengthening program.  Having a strong core is a critical component of body-stewardship. A strong core helps with movement, can reduce lower back pain, and provides stability for your body. And this protective pursuit of core strength gets easily lost in the popular pursuit of visible abs.  

  New Recipe (Breakfast/Snack) 

Chia Pudding

  • 1/2 cup of milk (nut/coconut/oat milk for non-dairy)

    • I recommend unsweetened coconut milk, which adds a nice flavor to the pudding. 

  • 2 tablespoons of chia seeds

Chia seeds have made a resurrgence over the last several years, but they are not new. "Chia" is the Mayan word for "strength", as Mayan warriors (along with the Aztecs) used to eat chia seeds before battle or while traveling long distances. The Tarahumara "Runner" tribe in Mexico adds

for endurance running. 

 from "Eat This, Not That!" does a good job explaining some of the health benefits of chia. Chia seeds have Omega 3's, fiber, absorb water, provide energy, and are a great pre-workout fuel. 

Chia Pudding Instructions

:

Mix the milk and the chia seeds together in a mason jar or other container that can be sealed. Scale as needed. Let the mixture sit for at least 2 hours. I typically make 3-5 jars of chia pudding for the week, let them sit in the fridge overnight, then enjoy in the mornings throughout the week. 

Some recipes call for a sweetener like honey or maple syrup. Add that if you'd like to, but since I typically add fruit to my chia pudding, and I've found that a sweetened chia pudding with fruit is too sugary for my taste. 

Here are some ideas on how to enjoy chia pudding: 

  • Use it as a base to add fruit to (blueberries, blackberries, apples, etc...).

  • Make several servings of it at once. Making it in bulk saves meal prep time later on in the week. 

  • You can eat it cold or warm. 

  • Add a nut butter (almond, peanut, etc...) with a sliced banana ontop.