Fit Tip Fridays: #56

Short Workouts & Nutrition

Fit Tip Friday 56

💪When You Have 10 Minutes to Workout

Welcome to this week's Fit Tip Friday!Sometimes, all I have is a few minutes to devote to exercise. If you have young kids, vocation commitments, and other God-given responsibilities, you know what I'm talking about. This new post shares 5 of my favorite 10-minute workout strategies that I've used when crunched for time.🔗When You Have 10 Minutes to Workout 

🥩A Journey with Nutrition

The science behind nutrition has always confused me. 

It always seemed like every "answer" I found has several "answers" that dispelled or contradicted its claim.And I find the science complex. I'm a simple guy... and I like simple answers. There's a lot of chemistry happening with every bite you take... With fitness, nutrition is the inseparable chain with exercise. You can't develop strength without nourishment, and you can't lose weight without understanding the basics of food and caloric consumption. They go together. I haven't written much at all about nutrition because I like to stay in my lane (exercise & programming).However, due to some health issues, my wife and I found ourselves on a nutritional journey we weren't expecting to be on in 2023. We decided recently to come at the problem from a nutrition angle, evaluate our diets, and challenge our own thinking on what we eat.We are making small changes here and there to our diets... but it's helping. The results have been slow, but with more thought and research, we are finding some hope in each bite. So, in the resources section in Fit Tip Fridays, I will periodically share what we are learning about nutrition. But here's my one qualifier and ask.➡️Do your own research.At the end of the day, you are responsible before the Lord with how you steward your body (what you do with your body and what you put into it). And eating should be done for His glory (1 Cor. 10:31).I will share resources that are helping us, but I'd encourage you to do your own research beyond what I share.And don't be afraid to challenge your own thinking on what you think you know about food.It's been a fun journey for my wife and I, and I hope you will enjoy your own journey as well. 

    📃Resources -- Where we started 

    Here are some food and nutrition resources we started with.

    ---------------------------------------------------- 

    🔗Fallon's TableThis is where we started for my wife. Fallon has incredible resources (view her Instagram page), and my wife is following one of her meal plans.A huge aid from Fallon's resources at our stage in our journey is learning how to read labels and ingredients on the food you buy.Fallon's primary audience is women, so the next one is for the dudes.  

    ---------------------------------------------------- 

    🎙️Testosterone, Food, & Masculine Health with John MoodyEric Conn interviews John Moody on the Hard Men podcast, and this one has range. They talk about everything from soil, whole grains, sourdough, carnivore diets, sleep, exercise, etc...I'd encourage you to get a notepad or your cloud file out and take notes during this podcast. When I did that, I noticed John regularly cites from one resource, which I listed below. 

    ----------------------------------------------------

    🔗Weston A. Price FoundationWeston A. Price was a dentist from Cleveland who did dental studies on groups around the world.He found that deformed dental arches with crooked teeth were the result of poor diets, not inherited genetic defects. This lengthy article shares the basic principles of the Weston A. Price. 

    ----------------------------------------------------

    📗Beyond LabelsThis book has been my food reference source for a while now. In it, farmer Joel Salatin and Dr. Sina McCullough talk all things food. It's divided into easily understood headings, and the book is written in conversational style.