Fit Tip Fridays: #79 (3/22/24)

Fit Tip Fridays #79

FTF #79

📢 Announcement  

Before we dive into the cup of coffee that is this week's newsletter, a quick announcement.Starting next week, I will be releasing Fit Tip Fridays weekly for the foreseeable future. This is a change from its bi-weekly cadence. My intent is not to spam you with lame content... because well... that's lame. Spammy content doesn't serve you. And not serving people won't help my business. Here are two ways I want Fit Tip Fridays to serve you:  

#1) Actionable and Informational

#2) Skimmable in 30-seconds   

This isn't an insult to your attention span. I want to make improvements to the visibility of this newsletter so you can scan it over quickly.If you want to linger on a certain topic, you can jump into the deep end, as I will provide links. But if not, you can quickly walk away with a new action or nugget of information.  

-----------------------------------------

Now, since I've already taken up 30 seconds of your time, I'll ask for 30 seconds more for you to skim the rest of my newsletter.Thank you for your attention. I do not take it for granted. 

🔎 In This Fit Tip Friday  

 In this week's Fit Tip Friday:

  • ☕Should you drink coffee before you workout?

  • 💧What should you drink before that pre-workout coffee? 

  • 🎙️Something I've enjoyed 

  • 📜Quote for the Week

Should You Drink Coffee Before You Workout?  

Here's a summary of a great HealthLine article that answers this question: 

"Coffee has been linked to greater strength, power, and endurance during a workout. For best results, drink around 1–2 cups (240–475 mL) 45–60 minutes before your workout.

However, listen to your body and find an amount that's comfortable for you. Some prefer to exercise on an empty stomach, and others don't. Learn what works for you."

💧What Should You Drink Before that Pre-Workout Coffee? 

Water. At least ~8oz. Probably more. I exercise in the morning, and here's my own morning hydration process:

  • I drink ~8oz of water (sometimes more) right after I wake up. Your body dehydrates as you sleep. 

  • I then drink 1-2 cups of coffee, with a little bit of whole milk.

  • About 1-2 hours after water & coffee, I workout.

🎙️Something I've Enjoyed 

I listen to something when I exercise. And my favorite podcast right now is Haunted Cosmos. In this podcast, two Christian guys investigate the world of high strangeness. They cover topics including Mothman, Skinwalker Ranch, Bigfoot, the Salem witch trials, mermaids, psychedelics, and more.  The research and preparation is brilliant, the sound design is excellent, the rich and robust theology is refreshing, and the glory ascribed to God in the world He made is glorious (yes I used glory twice... if you know, you know). Give it a listen during your next workout. 

📜Quote for the Week 

"Habits are like stones rolling downhill -- the further they roll, the faster and more ungovernable is their course."- J.C. Ryle, Thoughts for Young Men