Ideal Schedule, the Elephant Walk, and Water First

FTF #103

Hey there - it’s Don.

September means back to school for a lot of families. Our oldest is now fully immersed in home schooling. Hard to believe we are at this point as a family. But we are excited for this season.

If you are new to the newsletter, my name is Don LaTorre. I own Layman’s Fitness, which is a company that helps Christian guys lose weight and build strength at home.

In my weekly newsletter, I share with you the fitness tips I’ve found to work.

Let’s jump in!

🔎 In This Fit Tip Friday

Inside you’ll find:

  • Create an ideal schedule for the week

  • The Elephant Walk

  • Start the morning with a glass of water

  • The 10-3-2-1-0 sleep rule (and more finds)

  • Strength is like money

First time reading? Sign-up here.

Tip #1: Create an ideal schedule for the week

Time is often the consistent challenge for guys who want to exercise consistently. This is true when starting exercise and when trying to keep doing it over a long period of time.

What has helped me is crafting an ideal schedule for the week.

This ideal schedule is a visualization of my entire week. In 30-minute intervals. All 168 hours. In one view.

This schedule serves as a target. I don’t hit it everyday, but this is what I’m trying to conform my week’s schedule into.

This allows me to look at all the different areas of my life that I’m responsible for (wife, kids, work, church, etc…) and ensure that my focus is applied to each of those different areas.

The best resource I’ve found to do this is the Optimize Your Week Course by Redeeming Productivity. I’d highly encourage you to check this course out.

Plus, if you use the code IDEALWEEK you can get the course for 40% off!

Here’s my sample schedule if you want to see how I use this ideal schedule concept.

Tip #2: The Elephant Walk

If you have lower back pain, chances are your hamstrings are one of your muscle groups that are causing that lower back discomfort.

And the Elephant Walk has turned out to be my favorite way to stretch the hamstrings.

Fun fact: that’s actually one of my brothers demonstrating the Elephant Walk. He’s super stretchy (he’s a great follow on Instagram by the way if you are into flexibility or horses - check his IG profile out @jack.equibody.fitness).

Tip #3: Start the morning with a glass of water

Our bodies dehydrate each night as we sleep.

And rushing to coffee first thing in the morning causes more dehydration.

One of the first things your body wants when it wakes up is that high quality H20. Something small like 4oz - 8oz works.

🔎 Finds/Resources This Week

Here are some of my favorite finds/resources this week.

Nutrition/Sleep

  • The 10-3-2-1-0 sleep rule (more)

  • The risks/benefits of taking creatine (more)

  • Less sleep may cause dehydration (more)

Training

  • This is one of my favorite abdominal exercises (more)

  • These stretches, especially #3 and #4, help relieve chest/pectoral tightness (more)

  • How to do a kettlebell swing, by Strongfirst (more)

  • 7 upper back stretches for pain relief, especially #1, #3, and #4 (more)

What’s New from Layman’s Fitness

  • This bacon-wrapped chicken thigh, sweet potato, and tomato/cucumber salad dinner recipe (more)

  • Turkish Get-Up, toddler edition (more)

💭 Thought for the Week

Strength is like money.

Money can be used to bless your children’s children, build churches, send out missionaries, and care for the poor.

Money can also be the cause of relational damage, family conflicts, sinful patterns of behavior, and as a source of greed and robbery.

Money itself is not vile. It’s a tool. The love of it is the root of all kinds of evil (1 Timothy 6:10).

Strength works the same way.

Strength can be used to bless your family, protect them, and endure long play sessions with your children and their children.

Strength can also be a destructive force that can physically harm others, destroy relationships, and be the cause of fear and intimidation.

Strength itself is not evil. It’s a gift. It’s the abuse of it that can lead to evil.

👍 Thanks for reading!

I’ll see you next week.

Be strong,

Don

P.S… If you want to lose weight and build strength without going to the gym, check out the Kettlebell Strength System. This is my program that helps Christian guys lose weight and build strength at home.

Here is one of the wins this past week from a guy in the program.