• Fit Tip Fridays
  • Posts
  • 5 Kettlebell Movements for an Iron Core & Investing in Yourself as a Christian

5 Kettlebell Movements for an Iron Core & Investing in Yourself as a Christian

FTF #109

Hey there - it’s Don.

Happy Friday!

If you are new to the newsletter, my name is Don and I own Layman’s Fitness, which is a business that helps Christian guys lose weight and build strength all at home.

Let’s jump right into this week’s Fit Tip Friday!

🔎 In This Fit Tip Friday

Inside you’ll find:

  • 5 kettlebell movements for an iron core

  • The case for not listening to music when you workout

  • As a Christian, is investing in yourself wrong?

  • How to fix upper trapezius pain, the best calorie control guide (using your hands), and more…

First time reading? Sign-up here.

Tip: 5 Kettlebell Movements for an Iron Core

Click here to read this on the Layman’s Fitness website

Here are 5 of my favorite kettlebell movements that develop a core as iron clad as the kettlebell:

This movement is the king of compound kettlebell exercises. Your core has to stabilize itself while being pulled in every direction. Nothing like it.

The windmill works your core in a slow and controlled manner, with an emphasis on the sides of your belly (obliques)

The snatch will take your breath away and it works every part of your midsection.

To do the swing correctly requires a lot of core engagement, particularly at the top of the movement.

Deadlifts are excellent for your core, but since it’s hard to deadlift heavy with kettlebells, the kickstand variety does the job.

🔎 Finds/Resources This Week

Here are some of my favorite finds/resources this week.

Top find

The case for not listening to music when you work out (more)

I tried this for the last two weeks and it was a lot harder than I thought it would be. My mind was conditioned to noise while working out.

My biggest takeaway from this little experiment was realizing how much I need to reduce noise and distraction each day. I found myself way more relaxed after a workout without music than one with music.

I don’t plan to workout sans-audio each time, but I do plan on doing quiet workouts more frequently.

Don

Other finds

  • How to fix upper trapezius pain for good… try the stretch at the 4:30 mark (more)

  • The best calorie control guide, using your hands (more)

  • Precision Nutrition’s hand-portion method FAQ guide (more)

  • Fasting, feasting, and our daily bread (DesiringGod article) (more)

  • 15 major benefits of walking (more)

  • 30 healthy soda alternatives (more)

What’s New From Layman’s Fitness

  • As a Christian, is investing in yourself wrong? (more)

  • Why I’m doing Layman’s Fitness (more)

👍 Thanks for reading!

I’ll see you next week.

Be strong,

Don